Past and present MEDUNSA and University of Limpopo, Medunsa Campus staff members who were involved in SAVIC from the outset.

The Department of Epidemiology and Social Medicine, University of Antwerp, who were involved in the Flemish Interuniversity Council funded, own initiative project, ‘Improvement of the health of future generations by strengthening infant immunisation programmes in South Africa’, from which SAVIC originated. This was an inter-university project between MEDUNSA and the University of Antwerpen and the EPISA of the NDoH, the goals of which were to enhance MEDUNSA’s institutional strength and capacity in the field of VPDs and immunisation, and to strengthen the immunisation programmes in three provinces in South Africa, namely Gauteng, North West and Limpopo. SAVIC was recognized and acknowledged as a Centre of excellence by MEDUNSA’s Executive Management in August 2003.

  • 2003–present: MEDUNSA/University of Limpopo, Medunsa Campus/SMU
  • 2005–present: Sanofi Pasteur
  • 2012–present: Aspen Pharmacare/GlaxoSmithKline (GSK)
  • 2012–present: NESI
  • 2014–present: Flemish Government
  • 2015: Roche
  • 2015: The Biovac Institute
  • 2015: SAMRC
  • 2003–2008: Flemish Interuniversity Council
  • 2006: Pfizer Laboratories
  • 2007–2009: Wyeth and Becton Dickinson
  • 2008–2010: GSK
  • 2009–2010: WHO
SAVIC receives unrestricted educational grants towards its annual activities from the vaccine industry and NESI. The Sefako Makgatho Health Sciences University provides funding towards administration, management and some research activities. Additional funds are raised during the organization of meetings from various stakeholders. SAVIC practices strict operational and scientific independence. None of the sponsors is involved in the strategic objectives of SAVIC, and SAVIC declares that its operations, unless where otherwise acknowledged, are independent of sponsors.